Bonding with books

My granddaughter doesn't take kindly to strangers, even doting babcias. She screamed when she first saw me and for a few days took evasive action whenever she came too close in her busy trotting around in search of experience, or the right toy for just now. I was a bit concerned: I only had a few days to charm her before her parents left her with me for the day while they learnt baby first aid.

She's fascinated by books: “book” was one of her first words. So I held a book up tantalisingly and murmured grandmaternal nonsense about the pictures. She edged a bit closer, and then realised I was there and backed off. But gradually the temptation was too great, and she leant on my knee. Eventually she said “Up” and climbed onto my lap.

She still covers her face occasionally when she sees me. I know that trick: if I can't see you, you can't see me, and maybe you're not even there. But sometimes she'll koala up me when she needs a place of retreat, or a view of a passing aeroplane, even when there are other alternatives.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Bonding with books”

  1. Ah, it is so difficult when you live on different continents. Books are a great way to bond though and a love of books stays with you for life.

    1. What gets me about Maja is her intentness. She’s only eighteen months old for goodness sake!

      As for who’ll get tired first, there are absolutely no prizes for guessing.

  2. I love a little bookworm! 🙂 Establishing trust must be difficult after a separation, Meg. You’ll win her over!
    Is her brother more affectionate? It’s always the acceptance of the more difficult one that we crave, isn’t it?

    1. Her brother is Mr Sociable – and Mr Mischief. My 14 year old granddaughter asked me after we were all together at Christmas “Did Maja end up warming to ANYONE?” She’d spent a lot of effort trying to be that one. We’re fine now: she’s a scrutiniser and likes to check you out first.

Leave a comment