A walk around Poznań’s Stary Rynek

Poznań gave me the same kind of pleasure that Prague gave me. The buildings were charming and the scale inviting. I began my visit at midday, rambling round the old town square, delighted by the freshly painted houses and the intricacies of the architecture of the city hall. As I ate lunch, a crowd gathered for the midday spectacle: the clock struck a sonorous twelve and a bugle announced the appearance of two goats who emerged just above the clock face and turned to butt each other in a slow mechanical way before retreating behind their doors. The next day I caught the town square in morning light, and again observed that slow awakening of a city which was my delight in Zagreb, Dubrovnik, and Prague.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A walk around Poznań’s Stary Rynek”

  1. Italians would feel at home here. It is strange, but the buildings, each with its own colour and individual architecture, collectively form a harmonious unity, just as they do at Portovenere in Liguria and in town squares elsewhere in Italy. Was Poznan ever a royal seat, as I noticed an SR topped by a crown under the clock? What a lovely place.

Leave a comment